Menu Close

Past GBR Titles


Winner: All My Puny Sorrows, Miriam Toews

  • The Wars, Timothy Findley
  • Dance of the Happy Shades, Alice Munro
  • Random Passage, Bernice Morgan
  • The Marrow Thieves, Cherie Dimaline


Winner: Indian Horse, Richard Wagamese

  • The Lost Diaries of Susanna Moodie, Cecily Ross
  • Rilla of Ingleside,  L.M. Montgomery
  • Man in the Shadows, Gordon Henderson
  • We’re All in This Together, Amy Jones


Winner: The Manticore, Robertson Davies

  • They Left Us Everything, Plum Johnson
  • Half-Blood Blues,  Esi Edugyan
  • The High Mountains of Portugal, Yann Martel
  • Etta and Otto and Russell and James, Emma Hooper


Winner: The Virgin Cure, Ami McKay

  • Emancipation Day, Wayne Grady
  • Unless,  Carol Shields
  • No Relation, Terry Fallis
  • Still Life, Louise Penny


Winner: Elizabeth and After, Matt Cohen

  • Midnight at the Dragon Cafe, Judy Fong Bates
  • The Orenda,  Joseph Boyden
  • The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood
  • Beautiful Losers, Leonard Cohen


Winner: Crow Lake, Mary Lawson

  • Eleanor Rigby, Douglas Coupland
  • Lives of Girls and Women,  Alice Munro
  • Omens, Kelley Armstrong
  • Perdita, Hilary Scharper


Winner: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, Alan Bradley

  • Barometer Rising, Hugh MacLennan
  • Neuromancer, William Gibson
  • The Little Shadows, Marina Endicott
  • The Best Laid Plans, Terry Fallis


Winner: Fall On Your Knees, Ann-Marie MacDonald

  •  City Wolves, Dorris Heffron
  • The Holding, Merilyn Simonds
  • Life of Pi, Yann Martel
  • Lost in the Barrens, Farley Mowat


Winner: The Day The Falls Stood Still, Cathy Marie Buchanan

  • Galore, Michael Crummey
  • Generation X, Douglas Coupland
  • Not Wanted on the Voyage, Timothy Findley
  • Rogues Wedding, Terry Griggs
  • The Wars, Timothy Findley


Winner: Fifth Business, Robertson Davies

  • The Book of Negroes, Lawrence Hill
  • The Colony of Unrequited Dreams, Wayne Johnston
  • No Great Mischief, Alistar Mcleod
  • The Robber Bride, Margaret Atwood